How to Remove User from Mac

how to remove user from mac

How to Remove User from Mac

Want to stop sharing your mac with another user and looking for a way to how to delete a user on mac which won’t need from the User pane of  Users and Groups system preferences, or want to remove an guest account, then here’s the guide to how to remove a user from mac step by step and in easy way.

In mac administrator privileges are required for installing any software, to do any system change or to add any user or guest

Step 1

First, check that you are signin as an administrator so that you can make changes in your mac, now click “Apple”  then Select “System Preferences ”.

apple system preference

Step 2

After System Preferences opened then click on “Users and Groups”

apple system preference users and groups

Step 3

In “Users and Groups” window, click on the padlock i.e bottom left corner on your window and ton the popup window enter your user id and password to authenticate as an administrator to make any permanent changes then click on “Unlock”

apple system preference users and groups padlock 1

Step 4

Select the name of the User account or Guest account from the list which you want to remove from  mac then click on – ( minus sign) just below the login options in the  bottom left corner of the window

Under the User and Groups window you will be able to see the current user that is signin now and a list of users and guest whom are sharing the mac along with you in the left corner of the window.

You can not delete the account from which you are signin

apple system preference users and groups deleting user acccount

Step 5

You would be then prompted to choose an option from the given 3 option in the users and groups window i.e “Save the home folder in a disk image ”“Don’t change the home folder ”“ Delete the home folder”

  • Save the home folder in disk Image:  By selecting Save the home folder in a disk image will archives all the documents and information of the selected user so that it can restored in future if needed. The disk Image will be save under /Users/Deleted Users/ 
  • Don’t change the home folder: By selecting Don’t change the home folder all the documents and information of the selected user will be saved under the selected user name in Users folder, it may came in needy if in future it will be required to restore the user profile as it is. The home folder will be saved under /Users/
  • Delete the home folder:  By selecting Delete the home folder all the documents and information of the selected user will be deleted and the storage space will be freed.

apple system preference users and groups deleting user acccount options

So select the option which you prefer among the given 3 options then click on “Delete User ”.

Well that’s it your selected user had been deleted from the mac officially now.

Extra Tip:  To check the printer’s supply levels

here’s a quick tip for you guys out there on how to check your printer’s supply level in your mac it will save your time otherwise you would need to physically walk to your system to check it’s ink level.

So to check you Printer’s supply level on your mac, click on “Apple Menu ” then select System Preferences

apple system preference

In System Preferencesselect  “Printers & Scanners ”

apple system preference printer & scanners

Select a printer from the left-hand printers list then click on “ Options & Supplies”

apple system preference printer & scanners options & supplies

In the next window select “ Supply levels” which will show you the approx ink amount remaining (for this feature to work you need to turn on your printer).

apple system preference printer & scanners options & supplies supply levels

 

If you like this post then do share it on your Facebook, twitter page and don’t forget to follow us and subscribe us and if came across any problem during following the above mentioned step then do comment it, we will help you as much as possible to resolve your issue .

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *